A Year in India


Practical Skills
May 2, 2009, 10:07 am
Filed under: In the Field | Tags:

During my work with Adobe Youth Voices (AYV) students, I encourage them to tell stories, express themselves visually, and think critically about social issues. Last week, I was reminded that AYV also plays a role in building these high schoolers’ basic technical skills. While editing a film, I had the youth take turns using the computer to put together some video clips. A couple of my students were hesitant, and I realized it was because they don’t know how to use computers. After a bit of persistence, one of them came forward to give it a shot. We worked through how to use the laptop’s touch-pad mouse, and he slowly caught on.

The computer skills this boy is developing will be critical as he looks for a job in the near future. As my student learned to “click and drag, click and drag,” I was satisfied with the practicality of his video editing experience.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

