A Year in India


Holi!
April 9, 2009, 5:35 pm
Filed under: Culture | Tags:

Playing Holi

A few weeks ago, I celebrated Holi, India’s festival of colors.  As the tradition goes, people run around outside throwing colored water and powder at one another.  I spent the afternoon playing Holi (and eating a delicious Indian meal) at my close family friend Rashmi’s house.

When my friends and I asked Rashmi to tell us about the meaning behind Holi, she explained that she loves the holiday because it’s a great equalizer.  She described Holi as a festival that Indians of all socio-economic levels love to play.  As romantic as it sounds, I see her point. On Holi, you notice people from all walks of life out on the streets splashing color at each other.  It’s a sight to see, and a tradition I hope to bring back to the US when I return!

More photos here.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

its ho and lo!! i miss those guys. they are super fun to hang out with

Comment by Rooh




Leave a Reply

