A Year in India


Venkata in Sankata
February 27, 2009, 5:51 pm
Filed under: Culture | Tags: , ,

Venkata in Sankata poster

Venkata in Sankata poster

During the past few months, I’ve had the chance to meet a number of foreigners living and working in Bangalore.  One of these friends, Meghana, left the US last spring and came to India to give acting a shot.  She landed a lead role in a major film here in Bangalore.  Having grown up watching Indian films, she jumped right into the language, the Indian acting style, and even the dancing.  Posters of Meg’s film, Venkata in Sankata, are all over the city now.  My friends and I went to the premiere last week (our photo made it in the newspaper, below!).  It was quite a thrill to see a friend on the red carpet & big screen.  It really made me happy to see Meghana taking such a risk with her career and lifestyle to pursue what she loves.

Deccan Herald photo of my friends & me at Meg's premiere!

Deccan Herald photo of my friends & me at Meg's premiere!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Go Meghana! Wow.. she looks like a totally different person here. Truly a Sandalwood superstar!

Comment by Shalin

ahhhhh… how I miss being there!!!

Comment by Chandan




Leave a Reply

