A Year in India


In The Classroom
November 19, 2008, 10:47 pm
Filed under: In the Field | Tags: ,
APSA group presentations

APSA group presentations

Now that I’m getting more settled into my life and work in Bangalore, I’ve started taking a closer look at the nature of my project.  One aspect that’s increasingly frustrating to me is the teaching style used in the schools and NGOs.  Classes often involve an educator standing in front of the youth and lecturing.

The tendency towards long lectures during Adobe Youth Voices sessions is especially ironic given that the goal of the project is to promote interactive learning.  Further, Adobe has provided us with phenomenal educational resources (lesson plans, activity guides, etc.), so we have all of the tools we need at our disposal.

I had the chance to run my first AYV session entirely on my own last Monday.  I led the slum youth from APSA in a hands-on, small-group brainstorming activity.  I’m hoping to plan and implement similar activities in the future.

I remain a bit unsettled on this front, but I’m happy to be making small steps.  How to create a more established culture of action and interaction for my project is another, larger challenge.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

So exciting that you’re in the classroom and teaching! And I’m jealous that you have such a plethora of materials. How many students do you have??

Comment by Kirsten




Leave a Reply

