A Year in India


Working the System
September 22, 2008, 7:02 am
Filed under: Culture

Above, a front-center inscription reading “Government Work is God’s Work” on the state parliament building in Bangalore …

So during my first week in Bangalore, I spent more time registering with the foreign registration office (FRO) than getting any AIF project work done.  The process involved five visits to the FRO, running around the city getting all sorts of documents signed and photocopied, and saying many uncharacteristic “Yes, sirs” to various city officials.  Any more details would bore, but I finally completed my registration after telling the police commissioner that yes, I have South Indian blood in me, yes, I plan to marry an Indian man, yes, I am a vegetarian, and yes, I prefer India to the US.  Getting my first glimpse into the challenges surrounding the famous Indian bureaucracy!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your photograph reminds me of what Bush told Nabil Shaath, who was the Palestinian foreign minister at the time, “God told me ‘George, go and end the tyranny in Iraq’. And I did.”
Now that God’s (the Government’s) work is done and you are registered, all the best getting the AIF work done.

Comment by Prabha

I have a feeling this is going to be my all time favorite post. I wish I could have seen you with the commissioner.

Comment by Jaime




Leave a Reply

